Diabetes week: Skin in the Game

From one of the amazing people who takes the time to (try to) make me a better Dr.  

Betabetic

If you’d asked me about diabetes a few years ago, I would probably have had an opinion. I’m not known for being short on opinions on any given subject, but it feels weird, now, knowing that I would have had something to say about it then. Back then, I didn’t have diabetes. I knew people who had it. I had made films about it – I interviewed the first athlete in the UK to have a continuous glucose monitor, which allowed him to become the first truly-competitive british marathon runner with Type-1 diabetes. But I didn’t have it.

Now I do have it, and I’m still a total noob at this diabetes thing. Sixteen months since I started insulin, I feel like I know very little. I’ve had a rapid education from the @OurDiabetes community on Twitter. I’m not short on facts, on physiological understanding, on sick-rules and carb-counting cheats…

View original post 1,211 more words

Leave a Reply

