Many hats 

One of the things about being a Paediacademiatrician is that I end up wearing many hats/roles/jobs. (It’s also true that I own many real hats, but I’m not always so good at wearing them. I just buy them because they’re pretty.) 

One of the best things about working this way is that I get to do things that I wouldn’t be able to do if I was a straightforward clinician. Yes it’s busy, but it’s also incredibly exciting and rewarding.

So.

Having many hats = good.

Wearing many hats = also good (see above)

Trying to explain to people around you that you have many hats & you feel quite strongly about wearing them and that they’re actually quite important… Not so good.

Trying to wear your “I’m a grown-up who is used to being taken seriously” hat when you’re talking to the people who give you the “hello minion” hat to wear = epic disaster.

The reality, my reality, is that there are parts of my life where I get taken seriously and what I have to say counts for something. And there are parts where it doesn’t. And keeping the two separate is getting more and more difficult. 

Because the things that I see & know & learn are important. They matter: not to me personally, but to all the people they affect. And increasingly, I feel that I can’t just let things go. That it is my job to challenge and question. 

So, maybe it’s time to stop wearing the minion hat.

Yellow was never my colour anyway.

Leave a Reply

